Peanut Soup- Sopa de Mani


So, while ‘roasting my little peanut’, as my favorite shirt says, I’ve been craving anything peanut.  Pad Thai, PB&J, PB & honey, PB & Dulce De Leche… it’s rediculous. How I’m eating it all and not gaining weight, I do not know, but it is working.  I’ve made two pots of this fantastic soup in the last month and I’m ashamed to say I ate more than the other 4 family members combined. Which is fine. They ate other things. I even had it for breakfast…twice!

This is a typical soup made in Bolivia.  We ate it often when I lived there for awhile in 1998-99 and I could never get enough of it!  So here I share it with you.  Go make a pot of Bolivian culture..

 

Sopa De Mani (Peanut Soup)

  • 2 t. Cumin
  • 2 t. Oil
  • 4 boneless or bone-in ribs, cut in half or thirds (they always had the bone-in but sometimes I do boneless)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 6 cup water
  • 2 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 c. frozen peas
  • 1 c raw peanuts (although I’ve used roased and it’s fine)
  • 1/2 c. chopped tomatoes
  • 1. t. oregano
  • 3-4 medium sized potatoes
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 1/4 t. red pepper flakes
  • 2 t. fresh cilantro  (or parsley if you don’t like cilantro)

toast cumin in the bottom of your heated, dry stock pan for 30 seconds and remove.  Add oil to the pan and saute the onion, then toss the rib pieces to brown just on the outside.  Pour in your 6 cups of water and then add the carrots, peas and tomatoes.  Grind peanuts in a blender or grinder until powdery (if it gets pasty but isn’t making tiny pieces, you can add a bit of water to make it grind smaller).  Add the peanuts and potatoes to the pot.  Boil on low for 3o minutes, adding the spices in the last 10 minutes.

TO MAKE IT A VEGAN SOUP.  Omit the ribs and use vegetable stock (or chicken stock for others) instead of water. It’s still super yummy!!!

Serve in bowls with one piece of meat in the center of the bowl.  And think of me while you enjoy!!

7 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Recipes

7 responses to “Peanut Soup- Sopa de Mani

  1. Kacie

    Yummy! Can’t wait to try it…

  2. Kacie

    Still haven’t made it yet, but I just wanted to say that I tagged you! Not sure how to send you a link, but check out my page to get the picture and the rules 🙂

  3. Maria

    I just wanted to thank you for posting this. It is incredibly difficult to find easy to follow Bolivian recipes on the web. I did have one question, however: do the “t’s” stand for teaspoons or tablespoons?

  4. t. is for teaspoon and a T. is for tablespoon. Enjoy!

  5. Emily

    I too lived in Bolivia from 1993 to 1999! This was my FAVORITE ……..well, ok one of my many FAVORITE dishes! Thanks for the recipe…my friend and I are making this for a presentation we are doing this Sunday at our college. We are serving samples of a 1-2 dishes to about 50 people…so I might triple this recipe! Thanks! 🙂

    ~Emily 🙂

  6. jesica

    whats the history on the soup any one knows

  7. I just made this recipe (meatless) and it came out tasty!

Leave a Reply

