Gotta love the Grocery Score!


Going to the grocery store will all three bambinos can be a daunting task.  I say that with all humility, fully aware that 3 kids is actually not a lot.  Still, it’s my a lot for now. 

I did most of my grocery shopping last week on payday, but Kroger has grapes for $.99 a pound.  I’m a sucker for grapes ( I ate 38 lbs of grapes when I was pregnant with Selah!)  yet I refuse to buy them when they are more than $1.19.  So, happy momma waltzed in with the whole tribe in tow, just for grapes.  To my delight the first thing I saw in the door was peaches on sale for $.99 a pound, too!  Oh happy day.  Selah was ecstatic!  Wait, it gets better.

The organic/health food section is right there next to the produce and a treasure chest (cart) overflowing with orange stickered items was right there in plain view just begging me to take a peek.  Did you know that Travis is actually embarrassed to look through those carts?  Is that normal?  I, personally was thrilled.  In the cart I found organic pasta, instant oatmeal, fruit leather, apple sauce, Cocoa Vive bars, sandwich cookies and Rice Cereal (great for making More rice milk).

So here’s a photo of my score. 

Kroger Store Score

  • 120 Fruit Leathers
  • 40 servings or instant oatmeal
  • 5 Cocoavia bars
  • 2 jars apple blueberry sauce
  • 8 boxes organic angel hair pasta
  • 2 boxes of sandwich cookies (saved me from making something for Selah’s tea party with a friend today)
  • 4lbs rice farina for rice milk  (should make about 5 gallons)
  • 5 1/2 lbs of grapes
  • 4 1/2 lbs of peaches (the children absconded with them before the photo)

everything was organic except the Cocoavia and the fruit. 

GRAND TOTAL AFTER TAX $34.64 

 (total value estimate, $120.00)

I spent only about 20 minutes in the store total, including checking out and the obligatory trip to the bathroom with the kids.  They won’t leave a store without seeing the restroom.  So, in less than 1/2 an hour I made  $85.36 on didn’t buy one food that wouldn’t be used.  OK, so we didn’t need the Cocoavia bars, but it was the ones with almonds!!  I’m content with that being taken out of my Mom Wage.  🙂

Yep,  I’m a proud  clearance cart scavenger. 

3 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Budgeting, Deals and Steals, Mellow Shade of Green, Mom Wage

3 responses to “Gotta love the Grocery Score!

  1. Awesome and your should be proud, it’s quite a feat! Congrats!!!!

  2. hbacmama

    I am sooooo jealous! Can I come have a play date at your house?!
    🙂

  3. MelissaG

    Way to go! Me, I still haven’t tackled grocery shopping with the toddler and the newborn as I fear they wouldn’t be cooperative with my bargain hunting.

Leave a Reply

