Talitha’s Top Secret Salsa


  We absolutely LOVE salsa in this house but I hate  how much buying good 
salsa costs! I came up with this  recipe a few years ago out of laziness and 
being cheap. It took a few tries but people beg for it. At one point there was 
a rumor going around amongst the moms at my church that I wouldn't share it 
and that you  had to come to my house to get it. I guess I need to work on how
 sarcastic I can be. 
I didn't expect anyone to BELIEVE me when I said that if I told them I'd have to 
kill them....   So here's my cheap easy salsa...  
  **************** 
Talitha’s Top Secret Salsa  

So this is really, really hard.  You may want to give up now....  

I won't blame you if you give up now and just come to my house for it, really...   

Drum roll please......  

 

1/2 a small onion (or 1/4thof a large)

2 cloves fresh garlic (or the equivalent of jar garlic)

1 handful of fresh cilantro

1 can of Rotel Tomatoes with Chillis

2 or 3 T. Lime Juice (depending on how you like it)

1/2 t. chili powder 3/4 t. cumin

dash of salt a few pinches of flour, any variety

1 T. water  

 

Throw the onion, garlic and cilantro in your food processor or blender and pulse a few times until chopped.

Open and add the Rotel, lime juice, chili powder, cumin and salt. pulse a few more times until blended. 

Pour in bowl.  Now here's the hard part. Take the last 2 ingredients. Now  sprinkle the flour on your shirt

and wet your face with the water to look like sweat.  Now serve your salsa with chips, and don't forget to let

everyone know how you slaved over their homemade salsa!!!! That's what I do, apparently 🙂

 


  VARIATIONS 

Pico De Gallo

Add chopped onions, green peppers,  a can of corn and a can of black beans for  some killer

compliments on your culinary skills. 

No Rotel

 

Sometimes I can’t get Rotel on sale so I will use a can of stewed tomatoes and some fresh

jalepeno or whatever hot pepper is cheap 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under All Posts, Recipes

One response to “Talitha’s Top Secret Salsa

  1. r2bc

    I love salsa too but have never made it homemade….I’ll give this a try!

Leave a Reply

